



Journal ofOrgano metallic Chemistry

Journal of Organometallic Chemistry 689 (2004) 1329-1330

www.elsevier.com/locate/jorganchem

Preface

Main group chemistry – 2002 ICMGC award



In 1991, the late Professor Bill McEwen of the University of Massachusetts, Amherst, MA, USA created the International Council on Main Group Chemistry (ICMGC). This non-profit organization aims to promote and advance the study, development and knowledge of main group chemistry among students, chemists and the general public.

An ICMGC Award was established for outstanding research in main group chemistry. The members of the Council collect the necessary data and decide on the recipient of the award. However, any person active in the field of main group chemistry may nominate a candidate for the award and be a recipient of the award. The former awardees include Guy Bertrand (1993), Eric Block (1994), Juzo Nakayama (1995), Anthony Arduengo (1996), Robert Holmes (1997), and François Mathey (1999).

To celebrate the 2002 Award winner Robert West from the University of Wisconsin-Madison (USA), a special ICMGC Award Symposium was organized during the fall ACS meeting 2003 in New York with the generous help of Tom Bitterwolf. Alexandra Migchielsen, the Publishing Editor at Elsevier with overall

responsibility for publications in Inorganic Chemistry introduced Robert West: "It was with the ambition to increase the awareness and impact of main group chemistry research that Elsevier sought the interaction with the ICMGC. This now has resulted in Elsevier sponsoring the ICMGC Award for excellence in main group chemistry that we present in this form for the second time today, and in the enlargement of the scope of the Journal of Organometallic Chemistry that now includes work covering this area".

The Elsevier sponsored ICMGC Award consists of a medal and a cheque and is given away once every two/ three years. The winner is asked to invite five colleagues to lecture with him at an international symposium. In New York, the lecturers were Mitsuo Kira (Japan), Wolf W. du Mont (Germany), Manfred Weidenbruch (Germany), Barbara Gerhus (Great Britain), and Michael F. Lappert (Great Britain).

Bob West is certainly one the world leading silicon chemists. He started his career at Lehigh University and quickly moved to the University of Wisconsin at Madison, where he created in 1999 the Organosilicon Research Center. Among numerous awards, he

received the American Chemical Society F.S. Kipping Award in Organosilicon Chemistry (1970), Wacker Corporation Silicon Prize (1989), Humbold Research Award for Senior US Scientists (1990), and the International Scientist of the Year Award (2004). Science Digest has elected him as the outstanding Science Innovator for 1985, and he was listed as one of the most highly cited chemists in 2003. Bob West is also an outstanding teacher who developed a new approach to the teaching of general chemistry, emphasizing the application of this science to social and environmental problems.

Bob is not only a great pioneer in chemistry: He is the Founder and still President of the Women's Medical Fund of Wisconsin, and he has done more than fifty first ascents in British Columbia and Alaska. That is Bob!

Guy Bertrand
UCR-CNRS Joint Research Chemistry Laboratory
(UMR 2282) Department of Chemistry
University of California Riverside
Riverside, CA 92521-0403, USA
Tel.: +909-787-2719; fax: +909-787-2725
E-mail address: gbertran@mail.ucr.edu